RSS

Writer’s Angst

17 Dec

Okay. That title is totally misleading. My angst isn’t writing related, it’s about feedback. I take these pages I enjoy so much (am I delusional?). I’ve spent hours pouring over, editing, rewriting. I hand them (or in most cases, mail them) to first family members and then friends.

Angst.

It’s like I’ve handed over a piece of my heart, my hope. These characters are so much a part of my life. I’m introducing them to you. Fear of rejection sets in.

I wait.

Then I get those first few comments from my reviewers and breathe a sigh of relief. Ah, they liked it. “A page turner.” “Unique.” “Great.” And honestly, what did I expect my mom, sister-in-law and niece to say?

Verbal responses. I am pleased, encouraged, smiling.

Anxious to work out the kinks and add polish to my work (improve my craft, I would say in critique group), I flip through the hard-copy. Typo marked here, “Don’t understand” note there, a grammar construct I knew she didn’t like is marked each time it occurred.

I am…deflated. There’s almost no constructive feedback. Standard response, “ I got into the story too much to write.” Is this a line? Did they really like it that much?

I know my writing needs work. I want to rewrite, to improve, to make the writing something I am proud of.

No.

That’s not true at all.

I want to make it something you will like.

Something that will give every person who might like it a chance to discover these characters. To live with them each day as I do. A chance to see where their story will take us.

Together.

I wait for pages from my next friendly reviewer.

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2012 in On Writing

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Writer’s Angst

  1. kristinkingauthor

    January 9, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    Thank you for reading and commenting! “Vampire Code of Ethics” is the perfect way to put it 🙂 I’m with you on the romance mixed with action or suspense. There’s always more going on in life.
    See you soon!

     
  2. Sandy

    January 8, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    Confession – I’m in the critique group. I’d never read a vampire book — did see a fantastic movie “The Fearless Vampire Killers” by Roman Polanski, terrifying & funny at the same time. It also went by The Fearless Vampire Killers, Or Pardon Me, But Your Teeth Are in My Neck (1967). http://www.tcm.com/this-month/movie-news.html?id=83918&name=The-Fearless-Vampire-Killers

    Once I got into the Kristin’s first book, Cain’s Coven, I was carried by the depth of the characters, and the nuanced relationships. Of course I didn’t know about Vampire Code of Ethics, nor that they could restrain themselves. So the normal tension of loving and not loving is doubled by the tension of whether this attraction will lead to the loved one’s death. And don’t forget that both brothers love the girl, and she loves them back, just differently. And the girl is trusting, loving and smart, as are the two guys. Sounds human, doesn’t it?

    Something else I liked was the action and plot. I can’t take too much smooshy romance. And the girl was tough — don’t forget that.

     
  3. Betty (Mom)

    December 17, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    OK. I promise to try to do better. I do truely enjoy reading what you write so maybe I need to read first for the story and content and then go through and re-read as a true editor. I can’t wait for the next Begotten Bloods.

     

Leave a Reply

 
