RSS

Book (Store) News: The Dream

14 May
My hometown just opened a new playground.

My hometown just opened a new playground.

You already know I love books, right? I read them (voraciously), now I’m writing them (slowly), and publishing (regularly). Seems having my own bookstore is the next logical step, right?

Perhaps you too cruise Main St. USA (for me Princeton, KY) and eye good store fronts for a Book Shoppe (spelled that way b/c I’ll serve ice cream instead of coffee). My dream is dying as more and more large bookstores close down–or is it?

This week from Dean Wesley Smith:

Even though everyone believes the myths that bookstores are dying, they are not. (But what do facts have to do with myths, right? FACT: Four years running there are more brick-an-mortar bookstores than the previous year. AND THAT’S NOT COUNTING ONLINE BOOKSTORES.)

That’s right–enter the INDIE Bookstore! A whole new business model (wheels turning).

More here on Smith’s “The New World of Publishing: What Is a Print Run, Grandpa?”

 

Leave a Reply

 
