RSS

A Simply Fabulous Character Interview with Sheila Penelope Ann Van Housen

11 Jul

Character Interview Shiela
Wow, Sheila Penelope Ann Van Housen, that’s quite a name you’ve got there. What were your folks thinking?

Oh I simply adore my name. If you must know, my birth mother was Irish and Sheila was her first choice, since it is an Irish name. Actually, it is derived from the name Cecelia, which is my step-mommy’s name! Penelope is from the story of Odysseus, a story which my father adores. Ann is the name of a crater on one of the lunar mountains on the moon. Yes, I am celestial to boot. And finally, my daddy dearest is Dutch, which explains the Van Housen.

One of the crater’s on the moon? Very interesting. You have quite a mature vocabulary for being a 14 year old.
Well I’m turning 15 this year so technically I’m 14 and a half. It certainly makes a huge difference. By the by, my birthday is on October 31st. You know, that is Halloween, but there’s nothing ominous about that. Anywho I digress. What was the question? Oh yes. My dear daddy sent me to a prestigious academy when we lived in Florida. My mother passed on when I was just a baby and I had no brothers or sisters so I was constantly entertained by books and I’m obsessed with history and interior design. I spent a lot of time with my great-aunt Hildie and we watched a lot of old-time movies. I especially love Audrey Hepburn.

She was great. I love books too. Which one was your favorite and why?
Hands down The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett . Why? Well I can take all day to answer that question! To answer simply; I love that our own tiny little private spaces can be shared with others. Mary had the garden and wanted it to be alive again and welcomed Dickon and Colin and especially Colin’s father. I had my own everything until daddy remarried and at first I was reluctant but I thought back to the story and wanted to share everything I liked with my new sister. Even though Charlie gave me a hard time about it at first, we eventually became the best of friends and our personalities are like night and day!

Interesting. We’ve all heard about Katniss from the Hunger Games, Hermoine from Harry Potter and Ella Enchanted. You’re the first character who is very popular and not the main protagonist. What role do you play in the Camp Eerie Series?
I originally started as a “background” character in My Accidentally Fun Summer, but really, with my personality I was just screaming for my own story to be told! I was a little louder in Sofia’s Magical World but I finally got my chance to shine in Charlie’s New Sister. Guess who her new sister is? Well moi of course! The story is told through Charlotte’s point of view, but I believe I’ll get my chance to tell a story very soon.

What was your favorite part about being in Sofia’s magical kingdom, El Guapo?
I love Sofia to pieces, but my favorite part was the last day! I mean really, I was nearly turned to stone, chased by wild wolf thingy’s, almost bitten by elf’s and not to mention my hair was drenched in water most of the time. I guess the best part was being protected by Sir Lucas and “bonding” with Charlotte. It was an education.

Do you think author Suzette Emilia captures your personality well?
I have an ‘author’-?

Ahem-Next question! When you were at camp with Callie and the girls, you wanted to be a Broadway actress when you grew up and in Charlie’s New Sister you’re really into interior design. Do you still want to act?
Broadway is most definitely something I’d love to do. But since I’ll surely outshine the other performers, I’ve decided to take a step back and give the spotlight to someone else. Designing a room is now my passion! I love sequins and sparkles and glitter and an explosion of color!
So different from Charlie. She’s really into hockey, skateboarding and climbing tress. She really keeps a sloppy room and doesn’t care about wearing a messy ponytail. She got you to ride a skateboard, did she ever let you touch her side of the room or give her a makeover?
Charlotte is a work in progress, but I think I’m getting through. I take it day by day with her. Seriously, the girl is screaming for a makeover. Ooh, can I give you one?

But I’m doing the interview right now.
Piffle! Fine. Next question please.

You spend a lot of time in bathrooms. What do you do in there?
Oh I’m sorry, are you the bathroom police?

Point taken. The following series of questions are short & fun. They’ll let us know more about you. Answer the first thing that pops into your head. If someone wrote a biography about you, what do you think the title should be?
Haunted French Pancakes Give Me the Crêpes – A Biography of Sheila Penelope Ann Van Housen

In one word, what makes you angry?
Mismatched.

How would you describe yourself in three words?
Imperfection is Beauty

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
(laughing) Oh this is so funny! I do love trick questions.

What is your favorite type of music?
You know that song they play at the Oscars when someone wins the award? Yeah, that.

Finally, what can we expect from you in the next story? I believe you’ll be going back to camp!
I’m a little more down to earth since Charlie is my sister. I won’t be afraid to get dirt in my nails. Dirt is a natural exfoliate for the skin anyhow! Book Four promises more adventure, new friends, a new romance, a budding romance, twists, turns and more! Here’s MY Facebook page if you want to try to keep up.

Where can we find out more about you and the Camp Eerie Series?

Author Suzette Emilia on Facebook (Link)

Suzette Emilia’s Website & Blog (Link)

Tweet Shiela (via Suzette) Here!

My Accidentally Fun Summer (Book 1) 
Sofia’s Magical World (Book 2) 
Charlie’s New Sister (Book 3)

Charlie's New Sister

 

One response to “A Simply Fabulous Character Interview with Sheila Penelope Ann Van Housen

  1. Suzette Emilia

    July 11, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    Thank you! This was loads of fun!

     

Leave a Reply

 
