RSS

L is for Libraries

15 Apr

Screen Shot 2014-04-15 at 8.32.36 AMBelle has lost all she holds dear, is a captive, and yet, when she first sees the enormous library in Beast’s castle, her heart soars as does mine. The Book Thief feels it when she clambers over the window ledge into the Mayor’s house. Ben Carson‘s future opens wide when he receives his first library card.

Animated or not, I am thrilled by any library that requires a floating ladder or stairs to the second story. From Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello to Chateau d’Attre, I sigh with  contented longing. Perhaps it is not prudent for an author and publisher to admit to frequenting the public library. I so enjoy being surrounded by books, and I try to pass this thrill on. When my children ask to go to the library, I am warmed from heart to cheek to toe.

And as much as I enjoy a well placed vase or piece of art, the feng shui of empty space on a book shelf is…deflating. Built-ins, under stair stacks, a shelf that is a door, a wall of books hidden from view through a doorway, I could browse for hours on Pinterest here. No time for that right now, the neighbor has an attic of books I might get to clean out for her.

Do you have a favorite library? A favorite library scene?

___________

Kristin King would rather be reading. 🙂 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 15, 2014 in Moments, Other

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “L is for Libraries

  1. kristinkingauthor

    April 15, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    Kristin’s mom says, “I have a favorite library scene. When I lived in Louisville on Burwell, I would walk down to Dixie Highway and cross the busy highway to LaSalle. In the middle of the complex was a small public library. The only one I could walk to as a girl.”

     

Leave a Reply

 
