RSS

Books into TV Shows – Summer TV Premieres To Watch

11 Jun
Click the photo to see the premiere dates!

Click the photo to see the premiere dates!

There are hundreds of other things I should be doing right now. Instead I’m checking out Summer TV Debuts 2014. What’s on whose watch list (23 Best Picks? See them here on thewrap.com) and what I’m adding to mine.

I know. I should be writing more, but my to-do list is too distracting. Summer TV here I come.

I have no must watch, which means the choices are all about what makes me look twice. Second glances for me come from two categories of shows with a good bit of overlap. There are the shows I want to watch because the premise draws, and/or there are the people I want to watch in new roles. Neither gets me to buy-in without seeing the premiere, maybe another show or two. Then I’ll decide which shows to cut loose, or my schedule will jettison them all. At some point during a move you have to cut the cable or return the satellite dish.

With the prospect of moving to another country looming on my horizon, I’ll give “Welcome to Sweden” (NBC) a go. I’m hoping for laughs and resonance as a man goes, in the name of love, to live in a country where he doesn’t speak the language. I wonder how closely it’s based on Greg-the-brother-of-Amy Poehler’s real life?

‘The Leftovers’ might get a perusal. It helps that the co-creator of “Lost” wrote the novel, and then there is the whole 2% of the world’s population disappearing….How? Why? What do the folks left behind do? Liv Tyler is among them.

‘The Strain’ gets my attention for the vampiric virus. (Yay! A vampire series that hopefully has less than half the scenes in a high school). We always hear about books becoming movies. Why not TV shows? Actually, a lot of TV comes from books if this season is any indication. ‘The Strain’ was a trilogy, and the show is going to have some interesting stars in episodes here and there. Sean Astin (Frodo’s Sam), Kevin Durand (I’m picturing him in “Lost”), and Francis Capra (“Veronica Mars”) are each listed for 1 or 2 episodes which tells me (possible spoiler alert) that a lot of characters are going to end up dead in this series.

‘The Last Ship’ (TNT) Post-apocalyptic? Yes. It is based on the book of the same name by William Brinkley (Go authors, go!)  Adam Baldwin of “Firefly” makes this a must see. (I’m already singing “Jane”). Plus I liked Rhona Mitra in “The Gates.” When you clean McSteamy up (Eric Dane from Grey’s Anatomy) and slap naval BDU’s on him, he’s almost unrecognizable.

‘Extant’ I’m not sure about. Is it because of Halle Berry or the lady who spends a year+ alone in space who returns home pregnant? Luckily, they are one and the same.

‘Legends’ didn’t catch my eye till I saw Sean Bean is starring. Another TNT Drama, their site says it’s “Based on the award-winning book by master spy novelist Robert Littell…” I’ve been trying to make time to watch all the “Sharpes” again. I think the Vicar of Dibley and I could totally hang.

And the exception to my premise and stars list is ‘The Musketeers’ (Book 1st and on BBC America). ‘Reign’ just didn’t cut it for me despite the outstanding period costumes and intrigue, so maybe this new action will fit the bill for historical romp. ‘Outlander’ (also from a book series and on Starz) will get a view too if I can work it into my schedule. 18th Century Scotland with romance and adventure had me at…well…Scotland. Guess they didn’t want the show confused with ‘Highlander’ even though the title is catchier.

‘Under the Dome’ is losing me as it strays further and further from the book, and most the returns are about the same in that respect. If I was in the UK, the new ‘Dr. Who’ would definitely get a look-see. ‘Defiance’ calls to me a bit, but without a DVR I’ll have to wait to see what it’s pitted against scheduling wise. Speaking of schedules, my mind is straying from thoughts about Summer TV’s Debuts, so I think I’ll check out that to-do list again.

_____________________

Kristin King is an author and publisher. Her top sellers are “Unsinkable Vampire” and “Cain’s Coven,” and her latest novel in the Begotten Bloods Series is Death Taint. Her imprint Three Kings Publishing can be found here. Three Kings is a Mom & Pop publisher of Christian writers (not necessarily Christian books).

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 11, 2014 in Beyond the Book

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
