RSS

Moving Home with Tears

11 Aug
His House in West Kentucky

His House in West Kentucky

The time between houses, between countries and continents reminds me that my home is the kingdom of God. Sunday last I was home with my brothers and sisters of faith in West Kentucky.  And I wept with joy.

For 14 years I visited my in-laws and Sunday was just another weekend day. For 14 years my heart was heavy with the thought that these earthly members of my family were not in my eternal family. Separated from God, from everlasting family.

As a mother whose four sons are adopted, my adoption by God the Father is so precious. I am a daughter of the Almighty. And a few years ago my nephew laid his head down on his desk at school and asked Jesus into his heart. In a short time almost every family member in Kentucky became my brother or sister in Christ. All of us adopted, all with new lives, new hopes, and new futures.

So as I worshiped in W. KY and saw my sister-in-law singing and dancing before God with the Praise Band, when my son went to the altar to pray and my mother-on-law knelt embracing him, I wept.

We were home.

In a couple weeks I would see our new house in the Netherlands–and more importantly find home with brothers and sisters I have yet to meet. 

Fantastic.

________________

Kristin King is an author, publisher and President of Future Hope Africa which can be found by link here.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 11, 2014 in Moments

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Moving Home with Tears

  1. Betty Hill

    August 11, 2014 at 11:52 pm

    Thank you my sweet daughter (I do not have in-laws, only children).  You and Michael are adopted into our family by marriage and are just as precious as the children we gave birth to.  The last two years have been the most satisfying of my life and I feel overwhelmed to be in God’s house with all of my children and grandchildren as well as my new found brothers and sisters in Christ.  I know I still have a long way to go but I feel so much more filled with the glory with every day and every prayer.  Love you.  Mom

     

Leave a Reply

 
