RSS

Holland Expat – Pinch Me

29 Sep

IMG_0150I live in Holland.

I live in Holland now. The Netherlands. I live in the Netherlands. Everyday. This is where I live.

I don’t have to pinch myself. I bike to the grocery on cobblestones past row houses with terra cotta roofing tiles.My shopping list is small. It has to be in order to fit in my saddle bags. I kinda wish I’d gotten larger ones. Maybe I’ll upgrade.

Even after a month+ I can’t identify something I need. Nail polish remover. It’s a must. My half-cracked off glaze from last week’s event (Military Tattoo) looks awful–and there’s another event tonight.

Up and down the aisles. Carefully avoiding off-list temptations that will push the limits of my bicycle space. I can’t find anything that looks remotely like polish remover. It feel like time wasted until….I find a friend. I ask for help. She knows exactly where it is.

BTW, nails is “nagellak” in Dutch, and the bottle looks like roll-on antiperspirant.

Grateful for friends. I bike home passing over one of my favorite canal views near our house.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2014 in Living in Holland

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Holland Expat – Pinch Me

  1. Elizabeth Maroney (@bethfrombelgium)

    October 7, 2014 at 10:19 am

    K&R
    Sitting here reading and picturing you in lovely Holland. Rosy cheeks, bicycles, and friendly, fit folks.
    The beginning of a great experience. Experience Vermeer in Delft and our favorite antique shop there. You are lucky ducks~Beth

     
  2. Betty (Mom)

    September 29, 2014 at 11:19 pm

    Love your wonderful descriptions of everyday life in Holland. Can’t wait to see it. Write more please.

     
  3. Ailey

    September 29, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    An experience you can’t get “just passing through.” Also shows that people need friends no matter where you’re at!

     
  4. Sherm C

    September 29, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    You portray a beautiful picture of everyday life for an expat. Please write more of these!

     

Leave a Reply

 
