RSS

New Page Two – Back to Congo Tomorrow

11 Jan
Photo linked to video about this Sally Brestin Aslan painting.

Photo linked to video about this Aslan painting by Sally Brestin.

These recent blogs about my Congo trip range from light hearted observations to the soul of who I am. The series gets closer to my personal space than anything I’ve written publicly before, so I thought it was time to add a Page 2 to my blog. There are two tabs for this blog now, “Home” and “Jesus Follower,” the second of which was added today. So I wanted to “Post” that info today. What you see below is exactly the same as what you see if you visit the 2nd tab.

Tomorrow I’ll be back to blogging about the Congo. Thanks for stopping by. Happy New Year!

Kristin

Maybe you’ve read something on my blog that made you wonder about what drives me, how I became a writer, why I spent Christmas in the Congo instead of with my children, why a so-called “Christian” writes vampire books, what does it mean to be a Christian? A writer’s bio often hints at their life and written work (e.g. Kristin lives with her husband, four sons, and her dog in Holland), but that isn’t the essence of who we are. I believe people are more than their work or their relationships.

At the end of 2014 my blog turned from books and writing to a travel log about my mission trip to eastern Congo. Each border patrol asked about my vocation, and I chose between “Writer” and “Humanitarian” when the heart of my work, my cause, my family, my life is Jesus Christ.

How does that happen? Who is Jesus really? In the Bible, the book of John (especially the first 8 chapters) gives us the clearest insight on who Jesus said he was–not what tv programs say, or word on the street–who Jesus himself claimed to be. Check it out using the “YouVersion” App on your mobile device.

Or maybe you’ve heard, read or seen something of Jesus and Christians and thought, “How do I get that?” I wanted to make sure you could find the basic place to start here on my blog. To me, becoming a follower of Jesus is where true life begins. I didn’t make these directions up or even write a version of it. These are word-for-word from the back page bulletin of my old church in Maryland (which I highly recommend if you’re ever in the Washington D.C. area).

HOW TO BECOME A FOLLOWER OF JESUS:

Embrace the reality of God’s personal love for you. Faith begins in love: “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only son that whoever believes in Him will not perish but have everlasting life.” – John 3:16; “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness.” – Jeremiah 31:3b

Admit that you’ve sinned and fallen short of God. Freedom begins with truth: “For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.” – Romans 3:23; “There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death.” – Proverbs 14:12

Believe that Jesus is God’s solution to your sin. Heaven begins with forgiveness: “All the prophets say the same thing about him–that everyone who believes in him receives forgiveness of sins through his name.” – Acts 10:43; “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home in him.” – John 14:23

Commit your life to Jesus–give him complete control! A new life begins with willingness to act on the truth: “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.” – Revelation 3:20; “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” – Romans 10:13

You can receive Christ right now by faith through prayer. God knows your heart and is not so concerned with your words as He is with the attitude of your heart. Here is a suggested prayer:

“Lord Jesus, I need You; please forgive me. Thank you for dying on the cross for my sins. I open the door of my life and receive You as my Savior and Lord. Thank you for forgiving my sins and for giving me eternal life! Please take control of my life and make me the kind of person you want me to be. Amen.”

If you prayed this prayer and would like to talk with someone about the next steps…..

Since you are not at my old church right now, the next steps they wrote won’t make sense. Finding a group of believers to grow with and Biblical teachers to learn from is a next step, but even before that, connect with God through His word beginning with the book of John. And talk to Him about anything and everything–hopes, doubts, dreams, directions. Once you’ve asked Jesus in to your life, your heart is the wireless device connecting your mind and soul to the God of the Universe 24/7.

I pray God’s best blessing for you. —Kristin

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2015 in Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “New Page Two – Back to Congo Tomorrow

  1. futurehopeafrica

    January 13, 2015 at 2:26 am

    Reblogged this on Future Hope Africa Newsletter.

     
  2. tabechel

    January 11, 2015 at 5:54 pm

    Every time i hear Congo I think of gorillas that got in the radioactive waste. Best wishes on your excursions!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
