RSS

Ready for the Academy Awards?

21 Feb
Awards Ceremony at 7 EST and 4 Pacific on ABC.

Awards Ceremony at 7 EST and 4 Pacific on ABC.

The Academy Awards are Sunday evening February 22nd this year, and if it weren’t for my kids, I wouldn’t have seen hardly any of the nominations. Flipping through the list of all the nominees at this link, I had to get all the way down to Hair & Makeup to see a flick I’ve viewed–Guardians of the Galaxy. Then a bit further on I see the Lego’s Movie song “Everything Is Awesome” getting the nod. Just seeing the title gets the tune stuck in my head again.

I find myself wondering if other people are in the same boat as me or if I was exceptionally sheltered last year. What would I have seen if my husband hadn’t been deployed for six months? If we hadn’t moved to the Netherlands shortly after his return?

Photo from the NY Daily News at embedded link.

Photo from the NY Daily News at embedded link.

Tops on my see it on DVD list is “Birdman” because I’ve been keeping an eye out for Michael Keaton since Mr. Mom and his stint as Batman. Frequently I like to read the book before seeing the movie, though I’ll make an exception for American Sniper since my husband is a soldier. Since my book club is reading “Wild” I’ll wait till after we discuss that to see the film. Maybe we’ll watch it together?

At the very bottom of the list I spot one more nominee I’ve seen. You can probably guess what it is–for Visual Effects? That’s right. Captain America: The Winter Soldier. Nearby is another film I can watch with all the kids, “Into the Woods” starring nominee for Best Supporting Actress Meryl Streep. How many nominations has she had anyway?

Documentaries aren’t usually a category I watch, but this year I will anxiously wait to see if “Virunga” wins. The movie is about the last mountain gorillas in the world, the park rangers who try to protect them, and the dangers of rebels and industry working the Congo Mountains. Having recently visited our educational in east Congo (Future Hope Africa), there’s a vested interest on my part in that particular award.

The lack of Redbox, Direct TV and such in Europe will put a serious dent in my movie watching for the next few years, so let me live vicariously. What will you be renting from the Academy Awards Nominees?

P.S. –View the 2015 Academy Award Winners here.

___________________

Kristin King is an author, publisher and US expat living in the Netherlands. Her top sellers are “Unsinkable Vampire” and the first novel in the  Begotten Bloods Series is “Cain’s Coven.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2015 in Other

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Ready for the Academy Awards?

  1. kristinkingauthor

    March 1, 2015 at 2:17 pm

    Thanks, Mindy. I have to say the result/winner I was most pleased for was Eddie Redmayne in
    The Theory of Everything.

     
  2. Mindy

    February 23, 2015 at 7:22 pm

    Kristin, Ed and I went to see American Sniper last night. A truly powerful, emotional movie! You may want to delay seeing it until…

     

Leave a Reply

 
