RSS

Think Europe Think Euro? Think Again (Denmark Holiday)

01 Mar
Danish Kroner (plural)

Danish Kroner (plural)

Driving from Spain, through France, across Belgium to our home in The Netherlands requires only one currency, the Euro. Super convenient. Although I’ve known for years that the United Kingdom retained their currency (sorry, “UK” is always the University of Kentucky [Go Cats!] in my book), I didn’t realize Denmark has also opted to keep theirs, the Kroner.

How does that workout for our last-minute holiday to Denmark?

Our first stop in Denmark was the convenience store where we picked up the key to the “summer-house” we rented mid-February. Key in hand, I asked for the location of an ATM, thinking I would use my American bank card for cash.

“Do you have a PIN?” the cashier asked, meaning the embedded gold chip on my bank card.

“Yes, I do. From Holland,” I said.

“Yeah, you can get cash here,” he pointed to the checkout at the top of the conveyor belt.

Success! Examining my unfamiliar 700 Kroner, I headed to the car and asked the children if they wanted a snack. Foreign currency already burning a hole in my pocket, we trooped back through the store where they each chose one snack item.

Thus I discovered my new favorite coin. Screen Shot 2015-03-01 at 6.42.48 PM

Prior to this, I wasn’t sure if our Holland bank card would work. It worked fabulously everywhere in Denmark. We also learned that most places accept Euro, though this phenomenon might have had something to do with our proximity to the German border since we stayed in Denmark’s Jutland. The exchange rate was horrific though.

Small Kebab Sandwich = 30 Kroner
30 Kroner = $5 (USD)
Want to pay in Euro? Price is 6 euro for same sandwich. 6 euro = $6.72 (USD)

Yikes!

Of course, it wasn’t till we returned home that I checked our Dutch bank account to see what the exchange rate was for all our purchases from the week-long holiday. 15 cents euro surcharge for each transaction whether large or small.

Whew! Much better.

More on our Denmark Holiday to come…

__________________

Kristin King is an author, publisher and US expat living in the Netherlands. Her top sellers are “Unsinkable Vampire” and the first novel in the  Begotten Bloods Series, “Cain’s Coven.” Her husband, Ryan King, writes in several genres.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 1, 2015 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Think Europe Think Euro? Think Again (Denmark Holiday)

  1. Irene Kucholick

    March 2, 2015 at 4:24 am

    I heard from friends Europe is expensive . But now that you are experiencing it, I am astounded. I hope the your holiday was still enjoyable. Irene

     

Leave a Reply

 
