RSS

Is the Honeymoon Over? (Holland Expat)

21 Mar
IMG_0637

A Lion McFlurry…what’s that?

The mantra of an expat sounds something like this: “Discover. Explore. Learn. Appreciate.”

…at least for the first 6 months. This week I’ve spent a little more time contemplating indicators that the honeymoon period of our family’s culture shock is over. How do I know? It’s the little things, like longing for a drive-thru and for gargantuan lots with wide parking spots free of charge. I’m not one to dwell on the negative, so here are a few other indicators. Writing them down should be cathartic and perhaps help rid me of their influence.

Instead of saying “This cold will only boost your immune system and make you stronger” and believing it, I’m secretly contemplating boycotting the international school where new germs are imported and dispersed every day and even more so after each holiday break.

Instead of learning more Dutch with enthusiasm, I am noting and discarding words and grammatical structures that will never become part of my lexicon.

Instead of cheering when I see the March Specials on the McDonald’s billboard, I am wondering how a country where restaurants stock fresh mint for the national hot infusion beverage missed the boat and has pistachio milkshakes instead of mint.

Not even tempted, not one little bit.

______________________

Kristin King is an author who has been a bit under the weather and is closing her eyes to face the sun as often as possible.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 21, 2015 in Living in Holland

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Is the Honeymoon Over? (Holland Expat)

  1. Irene Kucholick

    March 22, 2015 at 2:26 am

    I love all your letter, I read all of them and I am with you all the way. IRENE

     

Leave a Reply

 
