RSS

A Blog Event Sure to Cause a Stir (A to Z Blog Challenge)

23 Mar

Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 10.55.56 PM

My blog is relatively young (i.e. less than 300 posts) and the numbers of followers I have is commiserate. So how does a blogger like me generate more traffic? One activity that worked really well for me last year was to participate in the A to Z Blog Challenge. I’m the 900th writer on this year’s list!

Essentially what you do is press 26 posts out during April, one for everyday with Sundays off. The posts correspond to a letter of the alphabet, you visit other blogs that interest you from the list, leave comments, Share great finds, and enjoy the blog-o-sphere in a new way.

My theme last year was my Writing Issues and Books, a nebulous category that allowed me to generate content chasing the rabbits of my author career. What does that mean? Well, take a look at some of the posts. C is for Cards: Issues for a Blind Character discussed the research and challenges of developing a character for my second novel, Death Taint. I (or my husband) wrote  few genre focused posts such as P is for Post-Apocalyptic and R is for Romance.  Popular cultural influences got a nod last year in X is for X-Men and Superheroes and T is for Top Fiction of the Twentieth Century. I also took the opportunity to go public with excerpts from some of my WIP’s (Works in Progress) such as  F is for Faery Lands and  Z is for Zombies.

Really, I was all over the place and learned a lot of basics about what makes some blog posts more popular than others and how to improve my posts in the future. That was back in the dear old USA.

Now I live in Europe, am adjusting to a new culture, travel more extensively, and my blog topics have followed my transition. Now my most viewed articles are Holland Expat – The Dr. Said What?!, Sinter Klaas w/Black Pete and Racism News, and Congo Christmas – Dengue Diet.

Which leads me to today and the time to reveal my blog theme for A to Z 2015……(drum roll please)….

“Back to Africa” the A to Z Observations of a White Woman in East Congo and West Rwanda. Expect never before seen photos, travel insights, unusual moments and heart wrenching tales from my recent travels.

There were so many posts I couldn’t fit in during my Congo Christmas series and getting the word out about my nonprofit, Future Hope Africa, is a big part of this effort. So here’s to Blogging for Your Cause.

Are you a blogger too? Become the 1083rd blogger to take up the A to Z Challenge for April 2015 and see your readership and expertise grow.

_________________________

Kristin King is an author, publisher, and president of of the nonprofit, Future Hope Africa. She lives with her family in the Netherlands as an expat, loves Jesus, all sorts of people, travel, reading and animals.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2015 in A to Z Blog, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

17 responses to “A Blog Event Sure to Cause a Stir (A to Z Blog Challenge)

  1. zaagitravel

    April 1, 2015 at 7:49 am

    Hey there!

    So this is my first year doing the A-Z Challenge… My theme is my current move to New Zealand! 🙂

    Will enjoy reading your posts on Africa! I left my heart in Ghana in 2011.

    Well… Cheers!

    Alexa Rae (Zaagi Travel)

     
  2. Nilanjana Bose

    March 29, 2015 at 4:47 pm

    Africa is my fav continent – grew up in West Africa, and lived as an adult in North -. Look forward to the posts.
    Best wishes,
    Nilanjana.
    Madly-in-Verse

     
  3. Alex J. Cavanaugh (@AlexJCavanaugh)

    March 26, 2015 at 8:34 pm

    Now that is really unique! No one has a theme at all like that. Good choice. And have a fun time with the Challenge.

     
  4. Tarkabarka

    March 26, 2015 at 2:09 pm

    Intriguing! Sounds like an adventure! 🙂

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Epics from A to Z
    MopDog – The crazy thing about Hungarians…

     
  5. njmagas

    March 24, 2015 at 11:29 pm

    It’s a wonderful country. Sadly I’ll be leaving next year after five amazing years living here, but I absolutely recommend it!

     
  6. kristinkingauthor

    March 24, 2015 at 6:43 pm

    Whew, that’s a big responsibility on me. I’ll do my best! You might want to check back to the December posts I put up while I was on the continent as well.
    And thanks for visiting–I don’t think I’ve had an Ambassador stop by before 🙂

     
  7. kristinkingauthor

    March 24, 2015 at 6:42 pm

    Thank you–I still have so many notes from trip, so I wanted to make use of them. Thank you for stopping by.

     
  8. kristinkingauthor

    March 24, 2015 at 6:41 pm

    I still remember the first time I met a 2nd Kristin. Course I’ve lost count since then, but I’m very glad to have you stop by. Thank you!

     
  9. kristinkingauthor

    March 24, 2015 at 6:40 pm

    Japan, wow. I’ve never made it that far east.

     
  10. njmagas

    March 24, 2015 at 12:19 pm

    Cool! I’m an expat in Japan, so it’ll be nice to have some other perspectives form around the world to read. I look forward to your challenge! 🙂

     
  11. kristin

    March 24, 2015 at 12:38 am

    I will have to come back in April and check your posts out since I am also Kristin.

     
  12. CA Heaven

    March 23, 2015 at 10:08 pm

    Welcome to Europe. I live in Europe too, and have done so for the most of my life (except one year in Colorado). Interesting theme you have >:)

     
  13. Jeff Bushman

    March 23, 2015 at 10:04 pm

    That sounds great. I have always been drawn to Africa. I’ll most likely never make it so I will travel through you instead.

    Bushman
    2015 A to Z Challenge Ambassador
    @jwb81074

     
  14. Rosie Amber

    March 23, 2015 at 12:17 pm

    I’m really looking forward to your posts, I enjoy reading about Africa.

     
  15. J.L. Campbell (@JL_Campbell)

    March 23, 2015 at 11:55 am

    Hi, Kristin,
    Glad you’re in the Challenge and I like the sound of your theme!
    I’m sure the stories and pictures will be fascinating!

     
  16. Martha Reynolds

    March 23, 2015 at 11:21 am

    I love travel blogs! My only trip to Africa was a two-week stay in Morocco. This will be great!

     
  17. Susan Scott

    March 23, 2015 at 9:41 am

    Wow Kristin! Congo and Rwanda! Already I’m hooked. I’ll follow via email – glad there’s a button for that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
