RSS

A is for American in Congo

01 Apr
In a lone tree I see a continent, a people, a child springing up with joy.

In a lone tree I see a continent, a people, a child springing up with joy

(The A to Z Blog Challenge: Back to Africa)

How does your heart become attached to a place so far away? How do you lose your heart?

For me it was bit by bit and then all at once. As a child, I loved all things furry, and most anything on four legs. Africa and Australia were frequently in my thoughts, so distant and exotic. As a youth I learned about peoples and cultures, fascinating and far-flung. I did not know I was being wooed “little by little, part by part.”

Then as an adult, I met people who became my friends, the one who is my soul-sister, and I learned about the plight of a place so removed and so worth the effort. My heart went before I did, and then we landed together in lush beauty, crushing struggle. Every where I saw hope, courage, compassion.

An American in Congo is me. So I’ll write about it A to Z.

One life makes a difference. One child learning. One youth with a vision. One person like me who never imagined they would start a nonprofit, be president of anything after failing to make the student council in High School.

Here I am and to Africa I go, Back to Africa, because Future Hope Africa is not just a nonprofit. It is touching lives right now,

changing what can be,

raising a banner today to build tomorrow.

This I pray.

_______________________

Kristin King is an author, publisher and co-founder of Future Hope Africa, an educational mission located in East Congo (DRC) and dedicated to spreading hope in the name of Jesus Christ.

Screen Shot 2015-03-24 at 1.42.04 PM

 

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “A is for American in Congo

  1. mbhmaine

    April 2, 2015 at 1:12 am

    I’m also blogging during the A to Z Challenge. Your post was lovely and inspiring. I’m looking forward to reading more about your experiences.

     
  2. Donna L Martin

    April 1, 2015 at 12:39 pm

    Hi there!

    I’m stopping by during the A to Z Challenge. I enjoyed stopping by and hope you get the chance to check out my blog sometime during this month. I’m a children’s book author and I’m reviewing different books. Good luck with the challenge!

    Take care,

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donnalmartin.com
    author THE STORY CATCHER
    coauthor CHICKEN SOUP FOR THE SOUL: ANGELS AMONG US

     
  3. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor

    April 1, 2015 at 11:40 am

    I found your blog through the A to Z Challenge. Really looking forward to your posts – sounds fascinating!

     
  4. Rhonda Albom

    April 1, 2015 at 11:35 am

    I moved half way around the world years ago, so I partially understand. Sounds like you are making a difference in a world that needs more people like you.

     
  5. Susan Scott

    April 1, 2015 at 9:29 am

    Beautiful post Kristin thank you … yes, a place, a continent, so many contradictions, so much hope.

     
  6. Rosie Amber

    April 1, 2015 at 7:50 am

    Lovely, there is so much that is wonderful about Africa, great start to the challenge.

     

Leave a Reply

 
