RSS

D is for Discipleship (Happy Easter!)

04 Apr

(A to Z Blogs April 2015 – Back to Africa) (Wishing you all God’s best blessings this Easter.–Kristin)

Jesus is still calling disciples.

Jesus is still calling disciples.

One of the first meetings I went to was a discipleship class. The youth group sat around the main table in our center going through workbooks on what it means to be a follower of Christ, a disciple. Never content to simply fill in the blank spaces with the correct answer from scripture; platitudes will not satisfy these students. They push for more, ask tough questions, and work through how each part of the lesson applies to their particular circumstances.

If I know my parents stole the money to get our food, do I still eat it?

Some of our food was sacrificed to other gods, should I eat it?

My friend gives me money he made through criminal activity, do I give a tithe to God off that?

Their daily lives are filled with challenges I for one never had to face. That day’s lesson was on God’s direction for money, the very topic I’ve taught for years wherever I go. Yet one of the student’s questions forces me to search the scripture during the week so that I might return to the next meeting with an answer for him.

I am there to teach them, yet they seem to instruct me. With their hearts so set on pleasing God. With their energy for studying the Bible. With their fervent prayers for their country and each other. They bless me, bless each other. They show us all the hope we build upon.

May they each bless the Congo, bless Africa in ways that change not only individual lives but the nation and the peoples from every tribe and language.

______________________

 Kristin King is an author, publisher and co-founder of the nonprofit Future Hope Africa which is based in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. She is from Kentucky (USA) and lives as an expat in Holland.

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “D is for Discipleship (Happy Easter!)

  1. Irene Kucholick

    April 6, 2015 at 5:08 am

    It has been a very busy but wonderful Easter. You seem to be also just as busy. Stay well, Thank you for your E Mails. IRENE

     
  2. Susan Scott

    April 5, 2015 at 3:40 pm

    Lovely Kristin, we can always be hopeful when we learn from those we teach.

    Hope your Easter has been blessed ..

     

Leave a Reply

 
