RSS

E is for Education Is Life

06 Apr
Reading to two young gals at our center. My French was so poor, one of them took over for me.

Reading to two young gals at our center. My French was so poor, one of them took over for me.

(A to Z Blogs April 2015 – Back to Africa)

Zawdi

Mujinga

Visiting the education mission to encourage and support, that’s what my trip to Africa was about. Whether it’s French, math, hygiene, dental care or home finances, if there’s a teacher willing to teach the subject we do it. If there are funds to sponsor girls, we keep them in school. And now one boy too. A micro-loan for a young woman to help her work through University.

Zawdi

Mujinga

Perhaps the best insight is from one of our Princesses, one of our youth students. Evaline says:

For me this is not just an organization. It is a place of refuge, a light. Education is life. I remember the first time I cam here, all we talked about, the activities we did. That has changed my life very much. That’s why I come, because I hope it will do big things for other people too. In other places…those are corrupt. But here  light is on–here we have hope to put things back right.

Zawdi and Mujinga may not have meant anything to me before, but now I see them. See these two girls doing their studies, finding a refuge at our center in East Congo, and needing whatever we can offer them at Future Hope Africa.

Zawdi

Mujinga

______________________

 Kristin King is an author, publisher and co-founder of the nonprofit Future Hope Africa which is based in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. She is from Kentucky (USA) and lives as an expat in Holland.

Visit Future Hope Africa

Visit Future Hope Africa

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “E is for Education Is Life

  1. Bonnie Falk

    April 8, 2015 at 3:04 am

    This is great! I do support work for an NGO that is involved in education as well. I love hearing more about what else is going on around the world. I look forward to reading more!

     
  2. Susan Scott

    April 6, 2015 at 10:22 am

    so inspiring Kristin thank you. And for the work that you did or do … thank you.

     
  3. Rosie Amber

    April 6, 2015 at 8:05 am

    The gift of education can really make a difference.

     

Leave a Reply

 
