RSS

Q is for Questioning Africa Travel

20 Apr

IMG_0016(A to Z Blogs April 2015 – Back to Africa)

Are you going on a safari? Aren’t you afraid of Ebola? You used to live there didn’t you?

No. No. And no.

Tell people you’re going to Africa and all sort of questions will come your way. Add to it the fact that you’re going to the Congo, and even your best friend will question your decision (which she did BTW). So much so that it’s hard not to start questioning yourself.

Isn’t it dangerous? Isn’t that one of the places where there’s fighting? Have you checked with the State Department? What does your husband think?

Any place can be dangerous, and yes there are still rebels (fairly far away though). I don’t have to stay up to date with travel.gov because, believe me, I’ve got several people sending me every bit of bad news that’s coming out of central Africa. My husband? Well, he’s concerned, signed off on it, and praying a lot recently.

Every question, though, is an opportunity to get the word out about our education center. An open invitation to talk about our cause and encourage folks to think about how they can make a difference wherever their hearts lead them–even right at home.

I can’t say I don’t do silly things and sometimes act without thinking, but traveling to Africa is not one of those things. My mind, my heart, and my soul were fully engaged and already focused on the return trip plans.

The hardest questions were those from my sons. Why do you have to go, Mommy? Why can’t you take me with you?

Perhaps next time my silly-side will find a better hat-photo-op. Cause nothing says “doing fine in Africa” like sporting a huge sieve on your head–even little people can see that.

______________________

 Kristin King is an author, publisher and co-founder of the nonprofit Future Hope Africa which is based in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. She is from Kentucky (USA) and lives as an expat in Holland.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2015 in A to Z Blog, East Congo, Travel

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Q is for Questioning Africa Travel

  1. patgarcia

    April 20, 2015 at 7:23 pm

    Hi,
    Thanks for giving your opinion on traveling to Africa. I always say to people that start complaining that they have problems in their own country but are too busy pointing fingers at Africa.
    Visiting from the A to Z Blog Challenge.
    Shalom,
    Patricia at Everything Must Change

     
  2. Regina Martins

    April 20, 2015 at 6:37 am

    I resonate. I am a South African citizan and with the xenophobic attacks at the moment, even I am second-guessing myself.

     

Leave a Reply

 
