RSS

Holland Expat – Haven’t Seen That Before

15 Jun
Thanks to the Archipel and Williams website for the photo. Visit there for more info.

Thanks to the Archipel and Williams website for the photo. Visit there for more info.

In the Netherlands there are only certain days when it’s legal to display the national flag. Excessive patriotism is considered somewhat suspect, and given the history of war in Europe this is not a complete mystery. However, this week I saw a huge flag (not NL) hanging out a window and halfway down a house with a backpack hanging over it.

“Weird,” I thought.

Then I saw a Dutch flag on a pole with a backpack hanging on the end of the pole. Hmm…

Thanks to my local Facebook group, I now know what this means. High school students in the Netherlands must pass final exams to graduate, and each of those homes has someone who is graduating.

As more of these appear around Holland, I know I’ll look up now, smile, and think, “You go! Congratulations!”

______________________________

Kristin King is an author, publisher and US expat living in the Netherlands. Her top sellers are “Unsinkable Vampire” and “Cain’s Coven.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2015 in Living in Holland

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Holland Expat – Haven’t Seen That Before

  1. Irene Kucholick

    June 16, 2015 at 5:19 am

    I did not know that either . I think it is very interesting. IRENE

     
  2. Irene Kucholick

    June 16, 2015 at 5:18 am

    I did not know that either I find it interesting. Thanks for telling us. Irene

     

Leave a Reply

 
