RSS

Not Quite Evil Airline Seats

01 Aug
Having to turn inflight magazine to read it.

Having to turn inflight magazine to read it.

After flying Veuling airlines I was inordinately interested in an online news link about “evil” airline seats. Veuling is one of those European discount airlines following in the successful steps of Ryan Air and EasyJet. When you book you’ll be able to consult the calendar and fly on their cheapest day for their cheapest rate. For my booking only about 20 days out Amsterdam to Palma there were a few rates below 100 euro–if I went without a checked bag.

This seemed rather ingenious to me. Give me a big discount because I’m not checking a 23 kilo bag. I like it! Course I paid the higher fare and checked a bag since I had no idea how to pack for Majorca in July (more on that in another blog). I picked my seat online and on the return found I had been reseated–I think to a seat with less leg room.

Did someone mention leg room? I am 5′ 8″ and Veuling airline seat in front of me almost bumped my knees. My carry on had to fit above because otherwise there would be no place to put my feet. I really felt sorry for the taller folks who choose this flight. Space was a premium.

How tight was it? I couldn’t lay the sky magazine down on my lap. Granted, the EU standard paper is a bit taller and thinner than standard letter size in the US. But having to turn the thing catty cornered to read leans toward the ridiculous. When you see the photo you think, where would her knees go?

I’ll tell you. There is no pocket of safety cards, headphones, magazines and such on Veuling–that saves the 2.5 inches for what is your leg room. The seats may have reclined an inch or two–there was some movement when you pushed that button, but if someone in front of you put their weight on their headrest as they made for the isle you were in danger of having the safety card pocket (on back of headrest and made of hard plastic) knock you in the face.

Taller folks asked about moving up to the premium section which was mostly empty. Even if their friends were there, it was 150 euro. Even if it was the last leg of your journey in the last hour of your flight–150 euro.

You buy your own snacks, meal, soda, tea or coffee. This makes a lot of sense to me. Save on the food you may not want to eat anyway. Food cost examples include: club sandwich for 6.50, cup of soup for 3.50, coffee or tea for 2.50, soda for 2.60 and beer for 3.50.

With all that said and done, would I fly Veuling again? Well…next time I’ll try Transavia on this route if it’s less than 10 euro more. Perhaps I’ll consider more of the options on Skyscanner where great EU flight deals can be found. Beyond that you’ll find me back on Veuling since the money saved is more in my pocket for the island markets (Majorcan Island shopping).

___________________________

Kristin King is an author, publisher and President of Future Hope Africa.

Market Day

Market Day

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 1, 2015 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
