RSS

No photos on planes?

03 Aug

photoWhen I fly somewhere I’ve never been I want that window seat where the first views of the countryside break open below the clouds. On my recent trip to Mallorca, Spain, I was surprised by the part of the flight safety card I understood best (see photo). No cigarettes, no electronic cigarettes, no booze (unless you’re buying theirs, of course, beer = 3.50 euro), and…what’s that? No photos? No videos? I’m not sure, but I couldn’t remember seeing that symbol before. Hope the airline doesn’t ban me since they have the best rates and I posted a photo of how tight the seating was on a previous blog.

A little research turned up interesting notes on this controversial flight issue. The New York Times published an article about the legality with the definitive answer, “It’s complicated.” Flight attendants have been known to order people not to photograph or video while in flight. During an altercation, an airline attendant told someone photos and videos were banned, but the same flight had a photo contest for in-flight photos in its air magazine. Hmm.

Yesterday my oldest son returned from the US and proudly showed me the video he took of his plane taking off from Philadelphia. It was really good footage, but I couldn’t help thinking that if something had gone wrong the airline would not have appreciated the clip. On the other hand, video of a recent rough landing of a KLM flight in 70 mile per hour winds made the news and brought cheers for the very skilled pilot. That’s the world we live in. The footage will get out whether the companies want it to or not.

__________________

Kristin King is an author, mother of four, and US expat living in the Netherlands. Her top sellers are “Unsinkable Vampire” and “Cain’s Coven.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 3, 2015 in Travel

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
