RSS

Prinsjesdag Count Down (Part 2) How to Plan Your Shopping

14 Sep
Royal Head Gear at Prinsjesdag in Holland.

Royal Head Gear at Prinsjesdag in Holland.

As providence would have it, I am from the state of Kentucky which often draws a big question mark if given in answer to the question “Where are you from?” I prefer to clarify with “The United States” followed by “my state is Kentucky” and say we are “known for the Kentucky Derby, Bourbon…” — and before I can finish my sentence I hear “Like Kentucky Fried Chicken?”

2015 Hat Show  (Photo Copyright of the Hague Committee 200 years Kingdom - permission for educational use.)

2015 Hat Show (Photo Copyright of the Hague Committee 200 years Kingdom – permission for educational use.)

Yes, that’s the place. Sometimes foreigners even mention The Colonel–who actually did look like that in case you were wondering. Last week someone commented with admiration on how old The Colonel was when he began KFC. (Sorry the new moniker has not taken hold.)

What does this have to do with Prinsjesdag? Well, the Kentucky Derby and Prinsjesdag have one thing in common–besides quality horse flesh– and that’s hats. Big hats, designer hats, incredible hattery will be displayed on par with a Royal Wedding. However, these Hat Spectaculars take place every year. In fact, as part of four days of festivities leading up to Prinsjesdag, there was a hat show downtown. And can I just say I really, really, really like hats–also…they seem to like me.

(Photo Copyright of the Hague Committee 200 years Kingdom)

(Photo Copyright of the Hague Committee 200 years Kingdom)

Time for a little confession (cough cough), I’ve never been to the Kentucky Derby, but the hat I’m wearing for Prinsjesdag has! My cousin wore it a few years back and then passed it down to me. I’ve made good use of the wide-brimmed wonder during two Easters and wore it for book signings at the Titanic Museums in Branson, Missouri and Pigeon Forge Tennessee.

Thus my shopping for the Big Day starts with the one item I already own–a fabulous hat.

Part 3 – Find a Matching Outfit for The Hat

_______________________________

Kristin King is an author, publisher and US expat living in the Netherlands. She will be wearing a large, crowd infringing hat for Prinsjesdag.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 14, 2015 in Events, Living in Holland

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
