RSS

Purple Carrots

07 Oct
Our dog thought the carrot variety was fairly interesting too...till she discovered this was not a dog treat.

Our dog thought the carrot variety was fairly interesting too…till she discovered this was not a dog treat.

Did you know carrots used to all be purple? My husband was reading about this to me from our latest nonfiction favorite “1493” which is one of those books that manages to make history very interesting even to a paranormal, fantasy reader like me. I could not remember ever having seen a purple carrot–or any carrot that wasn’t orange.

Talk about timing. What do you think I saw for sale the next time I went to our Dutch grocery, packs of carrots with a mix of purple, yellow and orange. Of course I had to buy them.

Cross cut view of carrot colors.

Cross cut view of carrot colors.

The purple was the least “carrot” flavored–a very mild root veggie, followed by the yellow/pale orange. The regular Bug’s Bunny variety had most of the kick and most of the flavor. If I were a chef I’m sure I could find numerous uses for the lite carrot.

But I’m not. And frankly, I still can’t believe carrots used to all be purple!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2015 in Food, Living in Holland

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Purple Carrots

  1. kristinkingauthor

    October 29, 2015 at 12:54 pm

    Thanks for stopping! Wonder if using only purple ones would change the color of carrot cake or soup?

     
  2. Morella Clyde

    October 8, 2015 at 6:33 pm

    This is very interesting, thank you for sharing. I didn’t know about the history of carrots (purple) nor that such varieties exist. Just read about its history online, even mentioning black varieties and how purple ones were present in ancient egyptian burials. New to me also the fact carrots apparently originated in the hot and dry lands of Iran and Afghanistan and modern orange varieties were cultivated here in the Netherlands during the 17th century as a tribute to The rulling House of Orange.

     

Leave a Reply

 
