RSS

Vegetarian Home Decor? (Holland Expat)

13 Nov

Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 10.43.23 AMI am from the state of Kentucky (USA), a rural state good for agriculture, low-cost living, and…hunting. Memories of gatherings with friends or family in a house I had never seen before near the woods dot my childhood. “Hunting trips” they were called, though for me and the other kids it was high adventure playing in nearby trees and mostly running wild in a new territory.

Needless to say, mounted game prizes were also common to this down home American experience. The sixteen point buck hanging on the wall above our fireplace received a red felt nose at Christmas as well as glass colored balls hanging from its antlers.

What fun was that? To have a real deer in the house, so soft I carefully pet the fur with the back of my fingers. It’s was okay. I knew Dad hadn’t really shot Rudolph.

With my great love of animals, I also get the choice many people make to forego meat, leather, and other products that require the death of these lovely creatures.

What I don’t get is the desire to hang the mounted heads of plush stuffed animals. Clipped from a winter catalog in The Netherlands, my brows continue to furrow over this vegetarian home decor.

Going out and hunting Bambi’s dad is one thing. At least we ate the meat all winter. But beheading a child’s play thing simply to hang it on the wall? Well…it’s going a bit too far.

____________________

Kristin King is an author and US expat living in Holland. Anyone who cuts off he head of one of her stuffed animals is welcome to contact her anonymously in the comments of this blog if they hope to actually interact again. 😉

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2015 in Living in Holland

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Vegetarian Home Decor? (Holland Expat)

  1. N. E. White

    November 30, 2015 at 4:57 pm

    I hadn’t thought of it that way! But, yes, I can see that now. Also, when you realize that dolls essentially represent people…would be kind of weird to mount a doll’s head on the wall. o_O

     
  2. kristinkingauthor

    November 30, 2015 at 7:57 am

    I think it’s just the mutilated toy vision these give me. It’s very Toy Story Sid to me.

     
  3. N. E. White

    November 13, 2015 at 11:56 pm

    Well…I’m a vegetarian…and though I wouldn’t cut off a toy’s head and mount it on a wall, if I saw it some place else, I would think: well, at least no one died. (shrugs) To each their own, I suppose.

     

Leave a Reply

 
