RSS

Sad Tree (6th Day of Christmas)

30 Dec

IMG_9761“Aww…what a sad Christmas tree,” my friend said.

I couldn’t believe it. I just decorated the thing perfectly. Sure, it was only 6 feet tall, but that’s all the room we had. Pre-lit with bright colors, each ornament carefully placed, garland draping in even sweeps around the boughs: what was wrong with it?

I said, “What? How?”

“There’s not a single handmade ornament on the whole thing. No childrens’ art projects from school or church, no help from children to decorate it.”

Huh.

The next year we invited friends to a Trim-the-Tree party, and I let their kids go wild with decorating the tree. So many ornaments weighed down the middle. The rest were scattered like shot-gun blasted decorations everywhere. Here a patch, there a blank spot.

IMG_9762And I saw it. The mysterious beauty of childhood wrapped around my tree. I didn’t change a thing….okay, I moved a few breakable ornaments further up toward the top.

What’s this got to do with my Days of Christmas Nativity sets? My sons made these handcrafted pieces, and now they are a treasurer. They bring the light of Jesus together with the joy of childhood in one holiday decoration.

Marvelous!

–Kristin

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2015 in Other

 

2 responses to “Sad Tree (6th Day of Christmas)

  1. kristinkingauthor

    January 7, 2016 at 9:19 am

    Merry Christmas Kim!

     
  2. Kim

    December 30, 2015 at 9:14 pm

    Hi Kristin! I love your post! And totally agree with you. Merry Christmas!

     

Leave a Reply

 
