RSS

Koln Bretzel Surprise

06 Feb

IMG_7061

My favorite place to go in Germany is Bakery, Everywhere. Walking down the street the scent of fresh-baked goods in the air entices me. Maybe I’m a bit of a carb addict. My husband thinks I can nose-navigate from inside the car to the local backerei. Here’s the thing, though. If you drive 15 minutes down the road, there will be something different on display. Yes, you’ll always find kaiser rolls, but you may find a delight you’ve never seen anywhere else in Europe.

Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 4.36.24 PMSuch was the day I drove into Koln (Cologne) with my cousin. We navigated straight into town for the towers of the Dom (cathedral) and parked underground central. We came up on a beautiful square outside the church, saw the grand interior, and came back out to order tea and people watch on the platz. Low and behold, there was a bakery with something I’d never seen elsewhere. Bretzels (pretzels) are fairly common across the country, but his one was glazed with icing, striped with chocolate and covered in toasted almonds.

Another little bit of baked perfection abroad.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2016 in Food, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Koln Bretzel Surprise

  1. kristinkingauthor

    February 7, 2016 at 6:49 am

    Yes! I haven’t had one in so long. Maybe I’ll detour through there the next chance I get.

     
  2. travelfranzi

    February 6, 2016 at 3:53 pm

    These bretzels are so good 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
