RSS

Naked Nuts (February Foodie)

13 Feb

Screen Shot 2016-02-13 at 2.14.34 PMHappy Saturday everybody. I wanted to say I’m sorry I did not get a new food post out yesterday. Events with our sons took over at the end of the week. Then again, one of our sons provided me with brand new food experience this morning.

This particular foodie moment caused my eyebrows to knit. My son thought it would be helpful to pre-shell the pistachios in our nut bowl.

These shriveled, bruised and discolored nuts accosted me before breakfast. Eeww–not very appealing are they?

I always thought pistachios were a little more expensive because they were sold by weight with the shells. Maybe frugal moms wanted them that way to slow down fast eaters.

The truth emerged for me this morning. If pistachio packages featured the naked nuts on the containers, sales would nose-dive. I doubt I could get my children to even try these things no matter how good I said they tasted. It’s better for us all if these nuts keep their shells on till the last minute.

–Kristin

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 13, 2016 in Food

 

Leave a Reply

 
