RSS

Eating Camel Balls

27 Feb

Are you an adventure eater? Try anything once? Ever eaten lamb fries?
IMG_1191
A right of passage at my university was going to a local truck stop called Sam’s with an older student. Once there newbies were “assualted” with a shaker of salt. Thankfully, salt washes out of your hair very easily. Next, we were encouraged to order the lamb fries. “Best you’ll ever eat,” we were told. Growing up in the south I had a vague idea what those fries were and declined. I didn’t want to be the butt of the joke.

For the most part, though, I am an adventurous eater. I’ll try most anything once. The camel balls in question were given to my son during Halloween in Holland where the American international school sponsored trick-or-treating.

IMG_1184My sons wanted nothing to do with this particular treat. They seemed to be half afraid of the contents. I was game even if the package declared them “Liquid-Filled.” What made me grimace was the nubby-textured tan surface that looked for all the world like hairs had been plucked from the hanging-ball shapes. Torn in half, the camel balls had mostly a stretchy-white interior with one drop of blood-colored liquid in the center. Made to resemble a cross-sectioned vessel perhaps?

IMG_1202
Down the hatch! Camel Balls–actual work to chew up as tart flavor coats the tongue and is off-set by snatches of sugar. My mouth screwed up of its own volition, and I shook my head till I could swallow the substance away and go searching for a drink.

Sour Patch Kid fans probably love these, but I have had my last camel ball…of the candy variety anyway.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 27, 2016 in Food

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
