RSS

A Sunday to Take Paas #Holland

27 Mar

In Dutch the word for today is “paas” which is pronounced a bit like the paws of a bunny. Moments in a foreign language like this make me smile. For weeks paws for paas have been all over the grocery advertisements. In Holland it’s quite easy to pick up rabbit shaped rolls, butter, cheese and even lunch meat. (Experiencing technical difficulties or I would have shared photos.) The festivities are fun, bright, and family focused in The Netherlands with big meals. I wonder though who is taking pause for Paas around the cross?

This is the time of year when new life is springing up through the ground in the form of crocus, daffodils, hyacinths, and early wild flowers here in Holland. On Good Friday I even spotted a couple tulips by someone’s driveway, the first sign of the tidal flow to come. The bulbs were buried last fall in their dark grave. Now they are a notice to remember; they resurrect, rising to new life, new glory, new hope.

I tried this week to share my joy. “Happy Paas!” I said to the the bike repairman on Wednesday, to the baker on Thursday, to the the dentist on Saturday. Several folks corrected my pronunciation of paas, but only one person told me the proper phrase. “Gelukkig Paas,” said the fishmonger. Most the other people I greeted didn’t seem to be in a hurry. Is this greeting such a by-gone phrase that they saw no use in correcting me? Whatever the reason, I am grateful for the one woman who set me straight.

Remembering not only paws as I become the Easter bunny hiding plastic eggs and the hard-boiled ones our sons decorated last night, my mind plays and replays a greeting from church, like a needle pausing and jumping on a few grooves of vinyl.

“Christ the Lord is risen today. Christ the Lord is risen today. Christ the Lord is risen today!”

Will anyone here answer…”He is Risen Indeed”?

Blessings, mercies, soul joy and more be to you this day to pause and remember. –Kristin

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2016 in Living in Holland

 

2 responses to “A Sunday to Take Paas #Holland

  1. juniperandwillows

    March 27, 2016 at 5:01 pm

    Happy Easter ! Great reflections and please share photos when you are able!

     
  2. Sherman Chaudoin

    March 27, 2016 at 10:11 am

    Thank you Doll Baby, I always enjoy your posts. Have a HAPPY AND BLESSED EASTER. I wondered if you and the boys would do eggs. Heather is an adult and it isn’t as much fun without all of you. I will do deviled eggs and a nice dinner. If it doesn’t rain, I will even wear a hat.

    Did I tell you that I put $50 in your acct here for Jaime’s birthday. I did not tell her, but she will see you on her holiday from school. I love all of you so much. Mom

     

Leave a Reply

 
