RSS

Street View Cars in #India #Travel

25 Mar

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 11.26.03 AM

If you get to travel far enough away from home that you notice how different the cars are, well, then you’ve really gotten away. Used to be I hardly noticed vehicles, but whenever we moved my brother always asks about the makes and models of automobiles. So this is for you, big brother.

Certainly the most eye-catching vehicles are what locals call “electric rickshaws.” These are usually two-passengers wide narrowing to one driver in the front. Colorful and plentiful, you can catch one most anywhere. Thankfully, our hosts provided a driver for their car. The rickshaws are open to all the noise and dust of the road.

I only spotted one BMW, one Volvo, and one Audi (was that one with diplomatic plates?), but remember my son and I were visiting Bengaluru (aka Bangalore) rather than Dehli or Mumbai.

What else did we see?

  • Suzuki models such as Baleno, Swift (lots), Astor, Zen, Alto and Omni.
  • Hyundais such as the Santo
  • Toyota’s including Etios and Innova
  • Mahindra Bolero and tractor of what I assumed was a local brand
  • Micraq?
  • Renault Lodgy
  • Hondas such as Verna and Brio
  • Skodas
  • Eicher trucks as well as trucks by Tata
  • Tata cars like the Indica
  • Quails?

I’m sure you’re more familiar with all these car models than I am, or maybe you’d enjoy Googling them? Many were small. Some were surprising large. Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 11.27.01 AM

Moving slowly through traffic to go only part way downtown took one and half hours each way, so you’d think my car list would be longer. Okay, I’ll admit I didn’t save the first list properly on my phone, and I lost it. Sorry about that. This gives you a good idea, though, about vehicles popular in one of the fastest growing markets in the world.

More about our India trip to come…

–Kristin

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 25, 2017 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
