RSS

L is for Like To Do For You #AtoZChallenge #Quotes

14 Apr

screen-shot-2017-01-18-at-2-20-10-pm

Corrie relates a time when a woman who spoke to her about the narrow-mindedness of Christianity and how Corrie was inspired to answer.

You are too narrow. I am an expert on world religions. I have traveled to many countries and have had long discussions with the leaders of many religious groups. I have discussed the road of life through time and eternity with Muslims, Brahins, Shintoists, and many others. All of them know God, even though they do not believe in Jesus Christ. I am sorry to have to disagree with you, but you put too much emphasis on Jesus Christ and do not allow that other religions are just as good as Christianity.”

Then I remembered something a friend had once told me. ‘You are not called to convince anyone, you are simply called to be an open channel for the Spirit of God to flow through. You can never be anything else, even though you may think so at times. Follow the pathway of obedience, let the Word of God do its own work, and you will be used by God far beyond your own powers.’

Therefore, I said to the woman, “Your argument is not with me, but with the scripture. It is not I who say these things, it is the Word of God. Jesus said that no man can come to the Father but by Him (John 14:6). If you wish to dispute someone, dispute Him.”

Some time later, she said, “I am glad to see you. I have never been able to forget what you said when you quoted Jesus, ‘No man cometh to the Father but by me.’ I have tried to argue with that from every angle, but am unable to get away from the fact that Jesus said it. I can argue with you, but I am having a difficult time arguing with Him.” “How wonderful. Now you are listening to the voice of God. Keep listening. He has much more to say to you.” (From Tramp for the Lord as excerpted on Writings of Corrie Ten Boom)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 14, 2017 in Living in Holland

 

Leave a Reply

 
