RSS

Y is for Yelling Devil #AtoZChallenge #CorrieTenBoom

29 Apr

screen-shot-2017-01-18-at-2-10-07-pm

I heard a story the other day about a pastor talking with a man about why the man didn’t go to church. The man said, “The church is full of hypocrites.” The pastor responded, “So is the grocery, but you still go there.” My husband heard the story and started putting in more places like Walmart, the gas station, and work. He made me laugh all over again.

Recently our pastor welcomed visitors by affirming their suspicions, our church is indeed full of hypocrites, we say one thing and do another. Even the Apostle Paul, who wrote half the New Testament in the Bible said, “I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead, I do what I hate” (Romans 7:15 NLT).

I don’t want to make my enemy yell with joy. I haven’t got it all together. I am not perfect or better than anyone else. I definitely don’t do what I should. That new gym membership I got two months ago? Haven’t been in two weeks now. Whatever the measure for doing what is good, whether healthful, reliable, ethical, or moral, I don’t live up to it, and I know it.  With regards to the most important of daily decisions, I am standing in the need of God’s mercy and forgiveness each day. And bless His holy name, He forgives me again and again and again.

Thank you, Jesus.


–Kristin

 

#CorrieTenBoom

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 29, 2017 in Living in Holland, Quotes

 

Leave a Reply

 
