RSS

Z is for Zeal for God’s People #AtoZChallenge #CorrieTenBoom

30 Apr

screen-shot-2017-01-18-at-2-03-47-pm

As a child I had a very strange picture of what Jesus looked like, a white man with long glossy hair, a gentle and kind spirited person, a shining (maybe literally) person who drew people together. Phillip Yancey’s book, The Jesus I Never Knew, digs further into reality starting at Jesus’ birth. He was a refugee, a minority from a backwater place that people made fun of. I don’t remember when I began to see the Jewishness of Jesus, of his mission to God’s chosen people, of his life in occupied Israel.

Corrie ten Boom’s testimony, the life she lived meeting weekly, until her Nazi arrest, to pray for Jews, is also an upbringing I cannot quite imagine. Almost from birth her awareness of who Jesus was and how God loves His chosen people was part of being a Christian for Corrie. She saw more clearly, suffered in Ravensbruck, lost most of her family, because she knew Love.

This is the sort of Christ follower I long to be, knowing more fully, seeing more clearly, day by day with my savior. Thus, I have featured great quotes from my hero in the faith, Corrie ten Boom, during this year’s A to Z Blog Challenge. I’ve run out of letters but not out of quotes, so don’t be surprised if you see a few more in the coming weeks.

–Kristin

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 30, 2017 in Living in Holland, Quotes

 

Leave a Reply

 
