RSS

Mom’s of Adopted Children

12 May
Award winning title by Katy Lynn Harris

Award winning title by Katy Lynn Harris

The director of the agency we used for our last adoption sent this copied letter out for Mother’s Day, and it so touched my heart I had to share it with you here as well. To my delight I discovered the author of the letter is fellow indie author Kathy Lynn Harris. Her latest novel, “a good kind of knowing,” was the WINNER of the Colorado PW 2013 Writing Competition for Novel/Adult Readers.

Thanks to Kathy and Happy Mother’s Day to All Who Mother Children of their own and others!

Dear Mom of an Adopted Child,

I met you in adoption education class. I met you at the agency. I met you at my son’s school. I met you online. I met you on purpose. I met you by accident.

It doesn’t matter. The thing is, I knew you right away. I recognize the fierce determination. The grit. The fight. Because everything about what you have was a decision, and nothing about what you have was easy. You are the kind of woman who Makes.Things.Happen. After all, you made this happen, this family you have.

Maybe you prayed for it. Maybe you had to convince a partner it was the right thing. Maybe you did it alone. Maybe people told you to just be happy with what you had before. Maybe someone told you it simply wasn’t in God’s plans for you to have a child, this child whose hair you now brush lightly from his face. Maybe someone warned you about what happened to their cousin’s neighbor’s friend. Maybe you ignored them.

Maybe you planned for it for years. Maybe an opportunity dropped into your lap. Maybe you depleted your life-savings for it. Maybe it was not your first choice. But maybe it was.

Regardless, I know you. And I see how you hold on so tight. Sometimes too tight. Because that’s what we do, isn’t it?

….(continue at this link)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 12, 2013 in Adoption

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment